Home  About Cricket Cricket Shop  Cricket Books  Cricket Rules  Cricket Clubs  Gallery  Records  SiteMap   Contact Us 

Twenty20 cricket  Rules

  • The name "Twenty20" implies that each team in a Twenty 20 cricket match will have a maximum of 20 overs
  • A bowler can bowl a maximum of four overs.
  • Free Hit: If the bowler bowls a no-ball as a result of overstepping, the next ball shall be a Free Hit. For this ball, the batsman is not given out by any way in the cricket rules apart from being run-out. The captain cannot change field setting and it will be the same as the previous ball.
  • A maximum of two fielders can be outside the 30 yard circle in the first 6 overs. These overs are known as Power Play.
  • For the remaining 14 overs not more than five players can be outside the 30 yard circle.
  • Only 5 fielders can field on the leg side at any point of time.
  • A new batsman has to come to the crease within 90 seconds after the dismissal of the previous batsman.
  • The teams do not sit in the pavilion. Instead, they sit in the dug-outs, next to each other, just behind the boundary line.
  • If a Twenty 20 match ends in a tie, the outcome is decided by a novel concept called bowl-out.
  • According to this (Bowl Out) Twenty 20 cricket rule, five bowlers from either team are allowed to a bowl each at the wicket with no batsman at the crease. The Twenty 20 rule states that the maximum time the wicket is castled by either team decides the outcome of the Twenty 20 match. If the match is still undecided the five bowlers are again required to bowl at the wicket.